Wet Weekend

Fall is officially back in Seattle which means one thing, rain. This weekend it rained, rained some more, rained a little bit more, and just for good measure, rained again. To be honest, I didn’t mind it. I actually kind of liked it, but in the sense of the first time it snows it’s really pretty and you like it, but after a couple months when the snow is all black and gray you just want it to be done. Talk to me in a couple months and I’m sure I’ll be hating it.

This weekend was the most social I’ve been in a long time. I’ve had a lot going on and have been a bit of a hermit, but this weekend I got out and about. Friday night I met up with some friends for dinner at Dicks, which is a Seattle staple. It’s one of those burger joints where you can only get the burgers how they make them and all they have are burgers, fries, and shakes. It’s also super cheap. It’s one of those places where if you eat once every couple months it’s good, but any more than that and your pushing your luck. Or if you eat it drunk. Then it’s REALLY good. After our delightful dinner, we headed across the street to see the movie Argo. It was great. I loved seeing it and really enjoyed it overall. Highly recommend it.

Saturday I met up with a friend for lunch before we went on a massive shopping adventure. Well, it wasn’t that massive but we went to a lot of places and I got a lot of stuff. It was mostly boring things, like sheets, toothpaste, etc. However, I was thrilled that I was able to find a shirt for my sister’s wedding rehearsal/rehearsal dinner and when I got home I found shoes online for the wedding. The shoes surprised me, because the brand name is Kelly and Kate. Which has significance as my name is Kellie and my sister’s name is Kate. What are the chances??

Today started off pretty low key. I spent the morning working on stuff for a group I’m now the president of. I’m working on developing a board, planning social events, and other random tasks. I also had to get a newsletter out which takes quite a bit of time to write and edit, but overall I enjoy doing that. I headed downtown around 3 to run a couple errands before our monthly book club. This month we read Carrie by Stephen King. I really liked this book and so did a lot of other people. We had a big turnout and a pretty lively discussion. Sometimes when we have books that not a lot of people enjoyed it can be hard to get the conversation moving, but not this month. Our next book is going to be Incendiary.

After book club, the rain was only a slight drizzle so I was able to walk the 20 minutes to the grocery store without getting too wet. Now I’m making dinner before watching Once Upon a Time and reading before bed. My current read? Frankenstein. I’m loving it so far! Classic literature can be intimidating at times, but so far this book is very easy to read. I’ll have to do a recap when I finish.

Have a great week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Seattle

Leave a Reply

