Easily Swayed by Peer Pressure..or I’m doing a 10K..or I’m a Crazy Person

After completing my first 5k I was emailing with a couple of people from my running class and mentioned that I was setting a goal of running one race a month. I should have specified that I had a 5k in mind..and nothing further! However, one of my friends immediately jumped at the chance to get me to do a 10k with her. After many assurances that I could do it, and support from the other people in our group (at this point it looks like there may be 5 of us doing the race) I decided that I would give in and do it. That means that from now until September 9, I’m going to be a running machine. We’ll see how that goes. I’m nervous for the two weeks I’m on travel in the end of August. Although all of my friends in DC are runners, so they should keep me honest!

Anyway, I was supposed to start today…but I didn’t. The plan is to push everything back a day.

Week

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

1

Rest

1.5 m run

CT or Rest

1.5 m run

Rest

2 m run

25-30 min EZ run or CT

2

Rest

2 m run

CT or Rest

2 m run

Rest

2.5 m run

25-30 min EZ run or CT

3

Rest

2.5 mi run

CT or Rest

2 m run

Rest

3.5 m run

30-35 min EZ run or CT

4

Rest

2.5 m run

CT or Rest

2 m run

Rest

3.5 m run

35 min EZ run or CT

5

Rest

3 m run

CT or Rest

2.5 m run

Rest

4 m run

35-40 min EZ run or CT

6

Rest

3 m run

CT

2.5 m run

Rest

4.5 m run

35-40 min EZ run or CT

7

Rest

3.5 m run

CT

3 m run

Rest

5 m run

40 min EZ run or CT

8

Rest

3 m run

CT or Rest

2 m run

Rest

Rest

10K Race!

 

I found this guide on about.com. It looks like it should be challenging, but also within my running comfort zone. I’ll be sure to keep you updated on my progress.

Anyway, enough about me, what’s your current fitness goal?

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Running, Seattle

One response to “Easily Swayed by Peer Pressure..or I’m doing a 10K..or I’m a Crazy Person

  1. Pingback: One Week Down « Explore

Leave a Reply

