I said a hip hop, a hippie, a hippie to the hip hip hop

This weekend has gone by way to fast. It was jam packed to say the least. Friday after work I went home to take a quick nap in a sunbeam. Then nap went from 45 minutes to uhmm..three hours. It was pretty epic. The sunbeams were shining down on me and enveloping me in their warmth. Like a hug from the sun.

Anyway, after waking from my slumber, I got ready and headed out to the local piano bar. I went with a few acquaintances, and didn’t know what to expect. It was fun. I really enjoyed it. It made me laugh though, because at one point, one of the piano players stated he got a request for gangsta rap. I didn’t know what to expect with that, and what we got was not gangsta rap. We got “Rapper’s Delight” by the Sugarhill Gang. While it was  a respectable version of a pretty classic song, it wasn’t too gangsta. However, they did get a little more gangsta later on. Well, as gangsta as you can get in a piano bar. They typically attract a certain type of clientele. Anyway, they did a pretty respectable cover of Look At Me Now. And that was my Friday night.

Saturday, I got my hungover butt out of bed and headed over to the U district to meet a couple friends for coffee. It was nice to sit and chat. Afterwards, I headed home to get ready for dinner. I went with my roommate and her friends to Palomino. It was kind of spendy, but we had a comp so I got to eat for almost free!  Afterwards, we went and saw Snow White and the Huntsman. While I didn’t think it was completely horrible, it wasn’t that great either. I’m torn. I don’t know exactly how bad I thought it was and I still haven’t decided how good I think it was.

I wrapped up my Sunday with our monthly book club. I’m horrible with book club sometimes. I’ve gone three times now and I’ve only actually finished the book once. I just bought the book for today yesterday. The premise of the book club is to Judge a Book By Its Cover. Every month, the group votes on a book to read based on the cover of the book and how interesting it looks. The book for today was The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Leguin. I judged the book by its cover and decided I wouldn’t like it. And so far I’m wrong. I’ve gotten about a third of the way through it. I’ll do a review once I finish it. Although I should probably also make reviews of all the other books I’ve read so far this year!

I ended my night on a high note, as I talked with my friend Stassia who will be in Seattle in two weeks, and my friend Suze who lives in Oklahoma City with her boyfriend Baby Phil, that I will get to see in three weeks when I’m in Oklahoma City for work. It’s going to be great. I’m really excited to see them all.

I’m off to keep reading The Dispossessed. Have a great week! I know I will, I have a short week with this happening soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Seattle, The Bookshelf, What I'm Reading

Leave a Reply

