Get That Junk Away From Me

This post is a boring one, and being done more out of obligation than anything. After I went home for the most miserable trip ever, I slept an entire weekend away before getting back into the swing of things. Life also got busy. Which was a good thing. I had three friends come visit within days of each other, and it was great! It was nice to be able to talk with people that you have known for years and you don’t have to do the standard, this is where I’m from, this is what I like to do, these are my hobbies, here are three fun facts about me..etc. It was also crazy to think that when I met them I was just out of college for less than a year and look at where we all are now. It also made me realize that I need to reawaken the side of me that is up for ridiculousness and shenanigans. I’ve suppressed it for too long.

Things are good on the Seattle front though. I’m making friendly friends and doing grown up  things like bbqs and brunch where we have grown up conversation. I went to my first Mariners game, and this past weekend one of my friends had a bbq and it was nice. Even with all that, and don’t get me wrong, things are good, I’m still starting to ask myself that question that never gets answered. What do I want? What will make me happy/what do I want my Seattle experience to be? the simple answer is I don’t know, and I’m okay with that.

I’m happy with where I am and at this point I just want to have fun. And also, I’m not ready to grow up. Growing up is what you do once you turn 30. Until then, keep babies/weddings/home buying/and the suburbs as far away from me as possible. I don’t want any of that junk. Please note that this is in no way meant to be negative towards people who want/have those things! 

I’m happy with Seattle, and still can’t believe I live here. This city is a place that was never on my radar, and even when I interviewed for this position, and got hired, I still never believed that I would be here. It’s a long way from Indiana!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Get That Junk Away From Me

  1. Bryan Frohbieter

    Goddammit keep the weddings, babies, home buying and the suburbs away! Of course I’d say that.

  2. Beverly Mattingly

    signed up for your blog

Leave a Reply

