I Blame It On Lunch

Yesterday I tried to be a little spontaneous, a little creative for dinner…and I flopped. Semi big time. See it all started at lunch yesterday. We had two birthdays in the office this past week, so we decided to do a birthday lunch. We ended up going to this little hole in the wall Italian place that is amazing. I’ve gone there once before with a couple of my coworkers and we split a pizza and a spinach risotto. They were both equally delicious, but I knew that I didn’t want to eat pizza this trip. I seriously wanted to get the risotto, but in the end I decided to go with the spaghetti and meatballs. A boring choice I know, but I was expecting something amazing. The pasta and the sauce were great, but the meatballs left a little to be desired. I was expecting them to be full of flavor from the herbs and sauce, but they weren’t. Still good, but not what I wanted. Basically I’m trying to say that I left wishing that I had gotten the risotto.

Anyway, fast forward to dinner. Monday while at the grocery story, I got a risotto mix to try and since I still wanted the risotto I didn’t have from lunch, I decided to make it for dinner. However, risotto following pasta for lunch was a little to unbalanced and carb heavy for me. Luckily I thought to myself, I have some sausage at home and also zucchini that I can make to go with it. A nice blend of carb/protein/veggie.

Well, it was a good idea in theory. The risotto turned out great, but nothing else did. The sausage really browned and cooked on the outside, but of course when I cut into it the inside was raw. I threw it back on the stove, but by the time it was done, I was full. Now I’m saving it for another night. The zucchini though, that’s where I really flopped. I quartered it, and decided to cook it on the stove in a pan. I put a little bit of olive oil in the pan to help with the cooking process. Well I thought it was a little, but it was too much for my poor quartered zucchini. It was definitely not enough to fry anything, but that’s what my zucchini thought it was doing. Also, I hadn’t heated the oil enough before putting in the zucchini, so my little zucchini quarters ended up soaking up all of the oil, and instead of warming up; they became soggy, limp zucchini. Fail. My well balanced dinner ended up being all carb. Double fail.

On a high note, I was able to work a little bit of magic in the kitchen last night. I managed to turn all of this:

Into this:

HOMEMADE GRANOLA BARS!!!!!

They turned out delicious, but in typical fashion I can’t get them out of the pan without them falling apart.

 

Have a great night! I’m off to fold laundry, do some yoga, and cough READ MY BOOKCLUB BOOK cough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

