Still Sick After All These Days

These past few weeks have been a bit of a bummer for me. I made it all winter without getting sick, and then as the weather started getting nice I got a cold. It started two weeks ago, and while I was pretty miserable last week, by Thursday I felt GREAT! You wouldn’t have known that I had been sick just a few days before. 

Then Friday morning came along. I woke up for work at 7…and immediately knew I wouldn’t be going anywhere until the afternoon. I can’t even remember the last time I’d been that sick. I ended up having to take a sick day. I was miserable, I couldn’t even keep water and saltines down!

Being sick this past week lead me to have a bit of a mini meltdown, or pity party, as I prefer to call it. I was extremely frustrated with being sick, and also frustrated that I had finally made plans to actually do things with people and then I got sick and ended up having to cancel. I also decided that Seattle was boring, although to be honest, I think I was just a little lonely. Seattle is pretty awesome, I’m just ready to have friends here! Thankfully though, I’ve got some good starts, so I can’t complain too much. And that was the end of my pity party. 

Until I woke up Friday. Boo. Yesterday I was feeling much better, but still a little under the weather, so I took the bus to the pharmacy and then went and saw a movie. I saw Casa de Mi Padre. I liked it, but if you don’t understand the humor of Will Ferrell speaking spanish, or being the only American playing a Mexican in Mexico (not in any type of stereotypical/racist way) surrounded by a Mexican/spanish speaking cast, I wouldn’t recommend this movie. The humor would be lost on you! 

Thankfully this morning I woke up feeling much better, and after getting some Vitamin Water upon the recommendation of my mother, I’m feeling pretty good. I’m doing what I like to call “taking back my Sundays”. I feel like I always run out of time on Sundays, so tonight I’m really trying to get everything prepped for tomorrow so that I can watch some tv and read before bed without having to worry about organizing my work bag or packing my lunch. 

Happy Sunday and hope you’re week goes great!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Still Sick After All These Days

  1. Laura

    Glad the vitamin water helped. 🙂

  2. Katie

    I hear ya on being lonely Kellie! For past three months besides Bryan I have had a conversation with 2 people in person. Moving new places has its draw backs, but in the end it is rewarding, I keep trying to tell myself this anyway. We cant wait to see you in just a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

