How’s It Hanging?

Hey everyone! Hope you all are doing well. Seattle is going great, and I’m starting to slowly feel settled. Things are all coming together, and I’m enjoying being here. It’s funny, because up until last week, I don’t think I realized how stressed I actually was. When I say that I was the stressed, I don’t mean the can’t eat/can’t sleep/ despair, I don’t know what to do stress, but the good stress. The I just uprooted my life and moved 2300 miles away from home stress! Thankfully, I’ve finally gotten my room mostly put together and I’m learning the ropes at work and the intricacies of my arch nemesis, public transit. I’ve been in my apartment for a month now, and everything is in it’s place. Now I can focus my energy on just enjoying life and having fun, not unpacking. Now, I’ve also decided that I actually need to make an effort to make friends. I’ll keep you posted on how this goes. I went to meetup.com and joined a book club. We have our first meeting next Sunday, which means that I need to actually purchase the book and read it before then. Looks like I have a new challenge. I also bought a groupon for a beginning running class, but apparently a lot of other people did too, because the earliest class I could get into doesn’t start until May. So I guess that plan’s on the backburner for now.  I also found other groups on meetup that have new in seattle events. There is one next Friday, that I’m seriously contemplating going to . We shall see!!!

On a bit of a more serious note, my great aunt passed away last week. She was a really cool lady, that I’ve gotten fairly close to over the last couple years. We regularly emailed, and in fact, she was the first person to follow my blog! And she was one of my top commenters. In fact, when I look at my blog stats, her name is still listed as a top commenter.  She had been sick since November and her health had been in decline. It was expected, but still upsetting.  By coincidence, I was listening to this song when I found out that she was really close to the end. I listened to the lyrics and realized how fitting they were for this situation. Here are the lyrics:

 Well my friends, I see your face so clearly
Little bit tired, little worn through the years
You sound nervous, you seem alone
I hardly recognize your voice on the telephone

In between I remember
Just before bound-up, broken-down
We drive out to the edge of the highway
Follow that lonesome dead-end roadside south

(Chorus:)
We’re all in this thing together
Walkin’ the line between faith and fear
This life don’t last forever
When you cry I taste the salt in your tears

Well my friend, let’s put this thing together
And walk the path with worn out feet of trial
‘Cause if you wanted we can go home forever
Give up your jaded ways, spell your name to God

(Chorus)

All the hour there’s a picture in a mirror
Fancy shoes to grace our feet
All there is is a slow road to freedom
Heaven above and the devil beneath

Here’s a video of it live:

I don’t mean to end on a sad note, because I know she wouldn’t want that, so I’m off to read before going to bed and dreaming about my Meat Free Monday meal! It should hopefully be a good one! I’ll be sure to share it with you all! Also, I’ve got HUGE, well I think it’s huge!, blogging news to share with you all. I’m just waiting for the final okay to share!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How’s It Hanging?

  1. Laura

    Anne loved your blogs. She mentioned them every time I saw her. So hard to believe she’s gone

Leave a Reply

