The Birth of a Runner?

Throughout the years, I have gotten an idea in my head that I want to be a runner and have made many BIG plans that haven’t had any long term sticking power. There was a time when I thought that I could get into running by signing up for a half marathon. That went well until I hurt my knee in training and got behind schedule and said screw it, i’m just going to walk it. I did walk it, and I loved it! I’ve had similar experiences over the past few years, I get to a certain point, and then I just stop. I get too busy, I get hurt, or i’m just too tired.  Blah, Blah, Blah, poor me.

One of my big goals for this year was to become a runner again. By mid-march things were looking good for me as I got up to three miles. Then…well I don’t know, but I do know that I lost the “running fever”.  Usually, I get busy, or don’t have a goal or plan..or I even get hurt.  And that’s when the ball drops.  I lose focus and just don’t care. But I want to change that. Since I got into the idea of blogging I’ve been reading blogs of people who run and write about it. And they all love it. And I think, I would love it too. If I could only have a rhyme or reason behind it.

Well, I now have a plan.  It’s called Couch to 5k. Check it out here http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml.  Basically it’s a plan that breaks down the basics of becoming a runner and guides you through weekly workouts so that you don’t burn yourself out by trying to do too much or getting hurt. Also, it sets you up to be ready for a 5k by the end. Luckily I’ve found one. It’s Nov. 6 in Columbus. I’ll be there running my face off.  So that’s the basic plan.

It gets a little more in depth. I’m going to totally immerse myself into the world of running. Meaning eating like a runner, dressing like a runner, talking like a runner, and even documenting the whole journey. Oh god, this is going to be ridiculous. Hope you decide to come along for the ride!

1 Comment

Filed under Columbus, NC3, postaweek2011, Projects, Running

One response to “The Birth of a Runner?

  1. Pingback: First Run of the Program | Explore

Leave a Reply

