Finally- A Full Weekend!

These last few weeks have been crazy busy with trainings, and I was really looking forward to this weekend, and my plans for today, a wonderfully lazy Sunday.  For the weekend, I put together a bowling outing on Friday night at the local bowling alley. I called earlier in the week to try and set up a reservation since we would have a large group coming, but I was informed that the bowling alley was first come, first serve and a reservation would not be allowed, and for a group of our size, we needed to arrive by 6:30 at the latest to be accommodated.  Our group gathered around 6 and made it to the bowling alley at 6:30, and the place was dead.  There was no one there except for the three people that worked there.  I was glad that we made it there in time before the place filled up. I am not a bowler, but I was pretty impressed with myself during my second game, I bowled a 77. Yes, I did just dust my shoulders off.

Empty Bowling Alley

After bowling, we all hoofed it over to one of the local watering holes, the Ron Da Voo. It’s quite the classy establishment. Mind you it doesn’t have any carpet on the walls, but it does have broasted chicken. Granted that does nothing to me as i don’t eat chicken, but for my pal Lil’ K, it’s kind of a big deal.

The highlight of my evening. I am putting in a time off request tomorrow so I can go meet the Fonz.

The Voo

Interior of the Voo

Saturday was a jam packed, but a great time.  I went with some members of my cooking group to the local grocery store to get some supplies for this week’s dinners. After grocery shopping, 15 of us piled into a van and went to Cedar Rapids and Iowa City to go thrifting, out to dinner, and to hit up a food co op in Iowa city.  I did pretty well thrifting, I got a sweet stein from busch gardens that had ponies on it, a back pack, a sweet Kansas City Chiefs sweatshirt from 1992, and a ton of sweet tees. My best purchase was a DVD of “The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou” for only $4. Some of you may not realize how much I love Bill Murray. In fact earlier this week, I did make the following statement: “Bill Murray is a god who walks among us mere mortals”.

For dinner we all went to a place called Old Chicago. Old Chicago was pretty good, but I think by the time we ate anything would have been good as we were starving! They had lots of pizzas, pastas, calzones, and burgers. I went with a delicious pizza and enjoyed two glasses of Moose Drool beer. The beer was most enjoyable.  They didn’t have enough tables to fit us all as a group, but they did have two corner booths to squeeze us into. It was a tight fit.

Dinner Companions

After dinner we checked out the New Pioneer Food Co-Op. I thought it was a pretty cool place and I plan to hit it up next time that I make it to Iowa City. I got some granola, tea, a vegan chocolate chip cookie, some EcoLips chapstick that I love and can never find, some note cards, and a few bars of organic dark chocolate. Overall a successful trip.

1 Comment

Filed under NC3, postaweek2011

One response to “Finally- A Full Weekend!

  1. Jen

    Sounds like a really fun weekend. Is Iowa City pretty big? Glad you are enjoying your new home, job and friends.

Leave a Reply

