Adventures in Iowa…Week 1 Recap

So it looks like I have missed my goal of doing a blog a week…but only by a day so I’ll do two tonight and count it all as one. So, it’s week one and well, things have been pretty good overall. Kinda stressful, kind of overwhelming, and a lot of fun. Getting to the campus was definitely a HUGE struggle. Between packing, shipping, cleaning out my room, packing my room since my mom is going to be in the new house by the time I come back and making sure that I have all of my documents was pretty stressful.

The stuff I really wanted to fit into my suitcase, most of this didn't.

Packing was definitely a difficult process. It was extremely difficult to know what exactly to take and what to leave. The bright side is that now I know how to do it for next time.  Next time there will be no overweight fees( for 4lbs! airline jerks!) and there will be no carry on bags, just my pack and I will check two bags. I definitely underpacked, which is a good thing, but still I wish I had more stuff. Unfortunately I packed all my other stuff so I wouldn’t even know where to ask someone to look to send me stuff!

Getting to campus was a very LONGGGGGGGGG process. I left for the shuttle at 5am and didn’t arrive in Iowa until about 7:30pm. I was exhausted and ready for bed. I got stuck in O’Hare and spent quite a bit of time in the American Airlines terminal. I had quite a few options for lunch which was nice, but I decided to go for Chicago style pizza since it was my first time in Chicago. The pizza was decent for airport pizza and it did the job, so no complaints here!

The crust was pretty awesome. Everything else, not so much

I spent the rest of my first night playing Yahtzee, and getting settled. We jumped into training on the next day. We had to get uniforms issued, get physicals, and were given a ton of reading on policy and other things we need to know for the field. Overall it was  a good week, just really overwhelming.

Room View 1-Pretty Spartan

My bed-It's actually pretty comfy!

This is turning into a long post, so I’ll end things for now! I guess instead of doing two tonight, I’ll get two this week!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Adventures in Iowa…Week 1 Recap

  1. Jen

    So glad that you are back to bloggin’ and sharing your experience in Iowa with all of us. Didn’t realize you were flying there though. So, you don’t have your car there? And seriously, just a couple of days ago was your first time in Chicago? I’m shocked! Looking forward to reading about more of your adventures.

  2. Pingback: I can see a new horizon underneath the blazin’ sky, I’ll be where the eagle’s flying higher and higher | Explore

Leave a Reply

