The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

I’ve just finished the third book in the Millenium Trilogy by Stieg Larson and I loved it. Definitely gets a thumbs up rating. For Christmas this year, my dad gave me a Kindle which I am absolutely in love with. When I got it, I told myself that I could by a book with it and not just surf the free books (which has quite the selection btw) so I thought long and hard about what book to make my first purchase on my Kindle and I finally chose this book. So now it has even more meaning for me since it is also the first book that I bought and read on my Kindle!

Overall I really enjoyed this book, and this series. These books are set in Sweden and the characters all have swedish names. I’m not that familiar with Sweden, and don’t speak swedish,  so a lot of times these names all ran together for me. Also, the books reference events that took place in Sweden’s past, which I am not familiar with, so these events all run together for me too. These books can be a bit overwhelming if you aren’t familiar with the swedish history or names, but overall they are extremely readable even if they are long!

I enjoyed the overall story lines as they are complex, interesting, and keeps you intrigued and wanting to keep reading. It was hard for me to put this book down and it was also hard for me continue reading some sections, such as anything to do with the section, when really I wanted to know what was happening with Salander. She is definitely my favorite character in the book. She is so unlike any other character I have ever read about and she has a crazy and dark history that fascinates me. That being said, one of the characters that I had a hard time getting interest in was Blomkvist. It was hard for me to believe what he was doing and to take him seriously. I found it hard to believe that he was a journalist, conspiracy theorist, action hero, and was able to seduce so many women all while getting hardly no sleep and running on coffee and the occasional meal.

The story line that I enjoyed the least in this book was Berger’s. I liked learning about everything that was happening with her, but I felt that some of the events really didn’t move the story forward. She had her big section and then her story ended and she faded to the background. I’m sure others feel differently, but that’s just my thoughts.

Overall though I HIGHLY Recommend reading this trilogy and this book! They are amazing!

 

1 Comment

Filed under The Bookshelf, Uncategorized, What I'm Reading

One response to “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

  1. Pingback: Year End Book Wrap Up | Explore

Leave a Reply

