Found it on Pinterest-Sort of-Butterscotch Caramel Cupcakes

Welcome to the latest installment of the Found it on Pinterest Series. This entry is another sort of  found on Pinterest entry. Basically, I saw a recipe for Salted Caramel Cupcakes on Pinterest, wrote down the ingredients, and couldn’t find what I was looking for at the store, so I got inspired to do something else. You can find the salted caramel cupcakes here as they look delish. They’re still on my list to make!

Anyway, I was standing in the bakery aisle of my grocery store, which surprisingly is slim pickings, and couldn’t find what I was looking for so I was about to give up, when it hit me. What if I did golden cake mix with butterscotch pudding and then a caramel icing with caramel drizzled on top? Voila, Butterscotch Caramel Cupcakes were born! I grabbed a box of golden cake mix, a small packet of butterscotch pudding, white cake icing and caramel syrup. In hindsight, I would have gone with a cream cheese style icing and would have gotten more butterscotch pudding.

Once I got home, I followed the directions on the cake mix box and added in the pudding mix. I debated making the pudding and putting it in, but in the end I decided to put it in dry. This still gave decent flavor and made my apartment smell amazing. I followed the directions on the box for time, but I think that was a little too long. I want my cupcakes a little more moist, but they were still good. Once they had cooled, I iced them. To make the caramel icing, I mixed the caramel syrup in with the white icing until it started to turn a bit more of a caramel color. After I iced the cupcakes, I did a nice little drizzle on top of the caramel syrup. You know, if I was smart, I would have actually wrote down the recipe and did more action shots. Instead, I didn’t

think about it. Maybe it’ll give me motivation to make these again??? Anyway, as always, here’s your poorly taken photo:

I stuck with the creepy elements since it’s so close to Halloween!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Found it on Pinterest, Recipes

Leave a Reply

